
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 
responsible for protecting Idaho’s air quality. Issuing 
permits to sources of air emissions is one of the 
ways DEQ fulfills this responsibility. Permits set the 
operating conditions for facilities that generate air 
pollution. DEQ issues four categories of air quality 
permits:

•	 Permit to Construct
An air quality permit to construct (PTC) is 
required prior to constructing or modifing 
buildings, structures, and installations that emit, 
or may emit, air pollutants. 

•	 Tier II Operating Permit
A Tier II operating permit is required for 
existing buildings, structures, and installations 
that emit, or may emit, small amounts of 
pollutants into the air and facilities that restrict 
their operations to avoid more extensive Tier I 
permitting requirements. 

•	 Tier I (Title V) Operating Permit 
A Tier I operating permit (also known as a 
Title V operating permit) is required by the 
federal Clean Air Act for facilities that typically 
emit, or may emit, large amounts of pollutants 
into the air and for certain other facilities that 
are subject to federal air quality standards. 

•	 Permit by Rule Registrations
A permit by rule (PBR) is a provision of the 
rules under which a facility or source may 
voluntarily register with DEQ and meet 
specific requirements for a particular source 
of air pollution. Once registered, the facility is 
deemed to have a permit, thereby authorizing 
construction without the need to first obtain a 
PTC.
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www.deq.idaho.gov

For More Information

Air Quality 
Permitting 
in Idaho

Air Quality Permitting
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-permitting-overview

Permit to Construct
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-permit-to-construct

Permit by Rule
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-permit-by rule

Tier I Permit
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-tier-one

Tier II Permit
www.deq.idaho.gov/air-tier-two

Rules for Control of Air Pollution in Idaho
www.adminrules.idaho.gove/rules/current/58/0101.pdf

Categories of Air Quality Permits

Payment is due in full 
July 1 of each year.

Fees can be paid by check, credit card, e-check, or 
wire transfer.

By check:
Make checks payable to the Idaho Department of 
Environmental Quality. Be sure to indicate the type 
of permit for which you are submitting the required 
fees.

Send completed application and check to:

Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
Attn: Fiscal Office
1410 N. Hilton
Boise, ID 83706

By credit card or e-check: 
Credit card and e-check payments can be made 
through the Access Idaho website: https://www.
accessidaho.org/ai/payport/online/deq/index.html
A convenience fee of 3% applies to credit card 
payments, while a fee of $5 applies to e-check 
payments.

By bank wire transfer: 
To arrange for a wire transfer, contact Claudia Clark 
in the DEQ Fiscal Office:
claudia.clark@deq.idaho.gov
(208) 373-0172

Payment of Fees

Contact the Air Quality 
Permitting Hotline to schedule a 

pre-application meeting.  
(1-877-573-7648)

Courtesy of Idaho Tourism



a. �General permit facilities include portable concrete batch plants, hot mix 
asphalt plants, and rock-crushing plants.

Exceptions
If DEQ determines no other review or analysis is 
required, the Tier II operating permit processing fee is 
not required for the following situations:

•	 A PTC issued within the last 5 years is rolled into 
a Tier II operating permit

•	 Changes to correct typographical errors
•	 Changes in the name or ownership of the permit 

holder 
•	 A synthetic minor permit is issued and DEQ’s 

processing costs can be charged against the 
permittee’s Tier I operating permit fees

Application Fee
No application fee is required for a Tier II permit 
application.

Processing Fee
A Tier II processing fee is assessed for each Tier II 
permit issued, based on emissions.  DEQ calculates 
and assesses the fees according to the following 
schedule (fugitive emissions are excluded):

Tier II Operating Permit
The Tier I operating permit fee applies to all major 
facilities as defined in IDAPA 58.01.01.008. It 
includes a registration fee, a fee-for-service, and a 
per-ton fee, all of which are assessed annually. The 
registration fee and per-ton fee are based on the 
actual amount of emissions of the following regulated 
air pollutants: sulfur oxides (SOX), nitrogen oxides 
(NOX), particulate matter (PM10), and volatile organic 
compounds (VOCs). The fee-for-service is assessed 
for actual time expended and expenses incurred by 
DEQ.

Tier I (Title V) Operating Permit

Annual Registration Fee
The registration fee for Tier I operating permits is 
assessed according to the following schedule:

Fee-for-Service
A fee-for-service is required when Tier I sources 
request a permit renewal or modification or when they 
receive program maintenance services. Maintenance 
services include, but are not limited to, site visits, 
responses to public inquiries, responses to site 
questions, and emission test reviews.

The fee-for-service is assessed for actual time 
expended and expenses incurred by DEQ in the 
previous calendar year, not to exceed $20,000 per 
facility per year.

Annual Per-Ton Fee
The annual fee for Tier I operating permits is $39.48 
per ton of regulated air pollutants. Fees are capped as 
follows:

Application Fee
An application fee of $1,000 is required with any 
PTC application submitted to DEQ.  Application 
processing will not begin until the fee has been 
received.

Processing Fee
A PTC processing fee is assessed for each PTC 
issued, based on the increase in air pollution 
emissions resulting from the permitted project. DEQ 
calculates and assesses processing fees according 
to the following schedule (fugitive emissions are 
excluded):

Permit to Construct

a. �General permit facilities include portable concrete batch plants, 
hot mix asphalt plants, and rock-crushing plants.  

b. �IDAPA 58.01.01.205.04 lists sources exempt from the permit 
requirements for new facilities or major modifications in 
attainment or unclassifiable areas.

Exceptions
PTC application and processing fees are not required 
for the following:
•	 Exempted sources listed in Idaho’s 

Administrative Code (IDAPA 58.01.01.220–223)
•	 Changes to correct typographical errors
•	 Changes in name or ownership of the permit 

holder when DEQ determines no other review or 
analysis is required (IDAPA 58.01.01.209.06)

Permit to Construct

General Permita

Emissions < 1 ton per year
Emissions = 1–10 tons per year
Emissions = 1–100 tons per year

Emissions > 100 tons per 
year (exempt under IDAPA  
58.01.01.205.04)b

Emissions > 100 tons per year 
(not exempt under IDAPA  
58.01.01.205.04)b 

Modification with no engineering 
analysis

$500
$1,000
$2,500
$5,000

$7,500

$10,000

$250

Fee

Submit upon 
receipt of DEQ 
assessment.
Must be paid in 
full before the 
final permit will 
be issued.

Payment

Tier II

General Permita
Emissions < 1 ton per year
Emissions = 1–10 tons per year
Emissions = 1–100 tons per year
Emissions > 100 tons per year
Synthetic minor sources with 
emissions below major source 
threshold

$500
$1,000
$2,500
$5,000

$10,000

$10,000

Fee
Must be paid 
in full within 45 
days of receipt 
of DEQ 
assessment. 
Interest 
accrues if 
unpaid after 45 
days.

Payment

$71,500
$42,900
$28,600
$22,750
$11,050
$7,150
$3,575

FeeEmissions

At least 7,000 tons per year
At least 4,500 but less than 7,000 tons per year 
At least 3,000 but less than 4,500 tons per year
At least 1,000 but less than 3,000 tons per year
At least 500 but less than 1,000 tons per year
At least 200 but less than 500 tons per year
Less than 200 tons per year

The opportunity to obtain a PBR is available to 
nonmetallic mineral processing plants (portable rock-
crushing facilities) and certain sized dairy farms. For 
rock-crushing facilities, a $250 registration fee must 
be submitted with the registration form. For dairy 
farms, no registration fee is required.

Permit by Rule (PBR) Registration

Exceptions
Any source exempt under IDAPA 58.01.01.396 
may not be subject to certain Tier I operating permit 
fees. Certain sources may qualify for deferral from 
the Tier I operating permit program under IDAPA 
58.01.01.301 and, therefore, are not subject to Tier I 
fees until such time that a Tier I application or Tier I 
permit is required for the source.

Emissions

At least 4,500 tons per year
At least 3,000, but less than 4,500 tons per year 
At least 1,000, but less than 3,000 tons per year
At least 500, but less than 1,000 tons per year
At least 200, but less than 500 tons per year
Less than 200 tons per year

$143,500
$71,500
$35,100
$25,025
$10,725

$3,575

Fee

This brochure provides a summary of permit 
fee requirements and is not intended to be 
all-inclusive. Detailed requirements are 
outlined in DEQ’s Rules for the Control of Air 
Pollution in Idaho (IDAPA 58.01.01).


